Click the flag icon below (Next to searching box) and choose your currency and delivery country
Save to shopping list
Create a new shopping list

What colour liturgical vestments are worn by Catholic clergy on various occasions?

What colour liturgical vestments are worn by Catholic clergy on various occasions?

Vestments have a long history in Christianity, and they symbolize the important work that priests do. While the clothing worn by priests in various Christian sects has many similarities, there are also significant differences. You may also notice that the colours of priest vestments change throughout the year, which is just another way for priests to interact with their community through their clothing.

Vestment Colors

These colours are generally a representation of the liturgical calendar's time of year. Except in times of grief, priests typically adhere to the annual cycle of vestment colours. Violet, white, green, red, gold, black, rose, and other colours may be used to emphasize moods suitable to a season of the liturgical year or to highlight a specific occasion.


Depending on where you live, your priest may wear white or gold robes. White represents the pleasure and purity that comes from faith. It is one of the most popular colours in liturgical vestments worn by priests daily, regardless of the liturgical season or celebration. These robes are often worn during Christmas and Easter. They represent Christ's birth and resurrection. Clergymen who perform eulogies and funeral rituals may wear white robes. The white robes are worn to commemorate the deceased's life rather than their death. The Pope's default vestments are white, indicating his position as the closest ally of Christ's glory.


Green, a sign of hope, persistence, and continuing listening, is the most utilized colour at Sunday Masses and weekdays outside of declared festivals. It walks alongside priests and the faithful who turn to them on a daily basis. Green is the traditional colour for "Ordinary Time," the period between Easter and Christmas, and vice versa. It is supposed to express the expectation and hope in Christ's resurrection. Green represents the optimism and life that each new day brings.

Purple or violet

Purple is especially popular during Advent and Lent. Purple liturgical garments distinguish the Mass for the Dead, and they can be substituted by black vestments. Purple signifies penance, preparation, and sacrifice when worn during Lent or Advent. Because of its association with mourning, it is frequently worn at funerals. Purple vestments, along with white or black, are worn to encourage funeral attendees to pray for the departed's penance and absolution.


Red represents Christ's passion and the bloodshed in martyrdom by Him and the Saints. This is used for liturgical vestments on Palm Sunday, Good Friday, Pentecost, commemorating the Lord's Passion and feasts of the Apostles, Evangelists, and Holy Martyrs.


Rose vestments are only worn twice a year, on the third Sunday of Advent and the fourth Sunday of Lent. Certain colours are worn on these days to represent Christ's joy and love. They are intended to remind Catholics of the joy of penance and devotion. It is worn during martyrs' feast days, Good Friday, Palm Sunday, and Pentecost. Cardinals wear red to demonstrate their loyalty to the church and the Pope. It is to represent the blood they would bleed for Christ and the church. During Confirmation, children wear red to signify Christ's passion.


Funerals used to be attended with black robes. They can still be seen, but they became less popular following the Second Vatican Council in the 1960s. The black vestments are intended to symbolize the sadness experienced by people attending funerals. Black vestments serve as a reminder to pray for the souls of those who have died. The clergy's daily clothing is often black. It is supposed to represent the humility and sacrifice of clerical life, with the aim of bringing them closer to God.


Blue vestments are only worn once a year, on the Feast of Mary.


In terms of non-codified colours, blue is used especially for celebrations in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary, mostly in Spanish or Portuguese-speaking countries. Pink represents joy and solemnity for the Third Sunday of Advent and the Fourth Sunday of Lent. Gold represents royalty and can replace all colours at any time, though it is usually only used in certain very important Solemnities.

IdoSell Trusted Reviews
4.74 / 5.00 480 reviews
IdoSell Trusted Reviews
Very quickly delivered my order.
I am very pleased with my order. You did an outstanding job...from being observant as to the error in the order by way of measurements caused by me and to the speedy delivery. The product is beautiful! Thank you so much! Pastor Allan Jahneke